The Paris Peace Agreements

The Paris Peace Agreements (Khmer: សន្ធិសញ្ញាសន្តិភាពទីក្រុងប៉ារីស, French: Accords de Paris) formally titled Comprehensive Cambodian Peace Agreements were signed on October 23, 1991, and marked the official end of the Cambodian–Vietnamese War. The agreement led to the deployment of the first post-Cold War peacekeeping mission (UNTAC) and the first ever occasion in which the UN took over as the government of a state. The agreement was signed by nineteen countries.  

The Paris Peace Agreements were the following conventions and treaties: 

  • The Final Act of the Paris Conference on Cambodia
  • Agreement on the Political Settlement of the Cambodia Conflict
  • Agreement Concerning the Sovereignty, Territorial Integrity and Inviolability, Neutrality and National Unity of Cambodia
  • Declaration on the Rehabilitation and Reconstruction of Cambodia.

October 23 is a public holiday in Cambodia to commemorate the anniversary of the Paris Peace Agreement. It was announced by the government in late 2012.

Share This